St Aloysius' Church
St Aloysius' Church is owned and operated by the Society of Jesus. The church has served the Parish of Sevenhill since its completion in 1875. A Vigil Mass is offered at St Aloysius' each Saturday at 6pm. Saturday morning Mass is offered at 8am.
A magnificent example of Gothic Revival architecture, the historic church is a striking building set among the vines and gardens of Sevenhill Cellars. Built from local stone, it features a slate roof, Mintaro slate floors, exquisite stained-glass windows and a painting of the Madonna presented to the Jesuits by King Ludwig II of Bavaria in 1848. The southern transept and front steps are recent additions.
The crypt, whose entrance is outside the church on the northern side, is unique for a parish church in Australia. The crypt is the final resting place for 42 Jesuits. Since 1901, only those who died at Sevenhill, or lived for a significant period of time at Sevenhill, have been buried in the crypt.
To contact the Parish Priest, telephone 0458 683 773 or email email@example.com